Starting Monday entry to Austria from 32 risk areas only with test

Due to increasing coronavirus infections, new restrictions on entry into Austria will apply from Monday 0.00 hours. Entry from 32 risk countries or areas is only possible with a negative PCR test, third-country nationals may only enter under certain conditions. This is provided for in the amended entry regulation of the Ministry of Health published on Friday.

Austrians, EU and EEA citizens as well as Swiss nationals who come from a risk area that does not have a stable Covid-19 situation – such as Romania, Serbia, Bosnia, Montenegro, Sweden, Russia or the USA – must carry a health certificate (with a negative PCR test) or have a PCR test done within 48 hours after entry.

Non-EU, EEA or Swiss nationals – such as Ukrainians – are generally prohibited from entering the country unless they come from the Schengen area and can present a negative PCR test not older than 72 hours. After entry, these persons must also undergo a ten-day (home) quarantine. A confirmation of accommodation must be presented for this; the costs of this will be shouldered by the person concerned. The Ministry of Health emphasizes that in this case it is not possible to “free test” from quarantine.

Even in the case of the above-mentioned entry of Austrians and EU citizens from a risk area, the negative PCR test confirmed in the health certificate may not be more than 72 hours in the past. If testing abroad was not possible, the PCR test must be carried out in Austria within 48 hours at one’s own expense. Until a negative test result is available, a self-monitored (home) quarantine must be carried out. A confirmation of accommodation must also be submitted for this.

According to the regulation, the following countries or areas with an increased risk of Covid-19 are regarded as states or areas with an increased risk of Covid-19: Albania, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Egypt, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kosovo, Mexico, Moldova (Moldavia), Montenegro, Nigeria, Northern Macedonia, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Sweden, Senegal, Serbia, South Africa, Turkey, Ukraine, United States and Hubei Province (China).

Exceptions to the entry ban for third-country nationals also apply to nursing staff, seasonal workers or diplomats. If they have not been in one of the countries classified as safe, they must also show a negative PCR test and then undergo a 10-day home quarantine. They can leave the home quarantine as soon as a PCR test carried out during this period is negative. For commuters, entry with a health certificate is possible. This certificate must also confirm a negative PCR test, which was carried out no more than three days prior to entry. A self-monitored quarantine is not necessary.

If Austrians, EU and EEA citizens or Swiss citizens come from a country with a stable Covid-19 situation (e.g. Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Norway) free entry is possible. However, the person must have stayed exclusively in the following – currently safe – states during the past ten days: Andorra, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, San Marino, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Czech Republic, Hungary, Vatican, United Kingdom and Cyprus.

There are no restrictions for state visits and for special family reasons – such as entry of life partners – or for events such as weddings and baptisms. Mere transit through Austria without a stopover remains possible without restriction, the regulation states. For persons who are already abroad on Monday, this change will only apply from Saturday, 1 August.

  • hector pascua, Source: sozialministerium/gesundheitsministerium

This post has already been read 51 times!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *