When you return from vacation, you must take the COVID 19test

Now it is clear: quarantine is not enough for many holiday returnees.

For Austrians who took their holiday in the 32 high-risk countries defined by the government, should take the fllowing considerations. Those from

➤ Albania, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Egypt, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kosovo, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nigeria, Northern Macedonia, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Sweden, Senegal, Serbia, South Africa, Turkey, Ukraine, United States (USA) or Hubei Province (China)

returns to Austria, must in any case have a corona test performed.

The rule applies to “Austrian citizens, EU/EEA citizens and Swiss citizens, as well as the family members of these persons living in the same household, for persons with residence or habitual abode in Austria”, the regulation states.

It then states that there are two options for those returning to Austria: Either they can present a negative PCR test which is not older than three days, on entry – or they must enter a ten-day quarantine and apply for a PCR test within 48 hours.

Anyone who does not apply for the test is liable to a fine of up to 1,450 euros under the regulation. Anyone who takes the test and receives a negative result can end the quarantine themselves from that point on. The test has to be paid for by the patient himself. With this, the former Corona regulation has been significantly tightened.

Until now it was sufficient to either present a negative test result (not older than four days) when returning to Austria, or to enter a 14-day quarantine, but without testing.

The new regulation comes into force on 27 July for those who go on holiday from that date. For those who are already on holiday, the regulation will only come into force from 30 July. The rules are even stricter for third-country nationals. They are not allowed to enter Austria directly, if they fall under an exception and do so via a Schengen country, they must present a negative test not older than three days and then still be placed in a ten-day quarantine. Free entry is currently available (status Sunday at 10 am) from

Andorra, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, San Marino, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Czech Republic, Hungary, Vatican City, United Kingdom and Cyprus

  • as long as you only stayed there and did not travel to other countries.
  • — Hector Pascua, Source: Interior Ministry, Austria

This post has already been read 57 times!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *