PRESS RELEASE – 30 January 2021 – BI lifts restrictions to 36 countries, clarifies other restrictions still in place

MANILA, Philippines—the Bureau of Immigration (BI) announced that they will be lifting the travel restrictions on the 36 countries with reported cases of the new Covid-19 variants starting Feb 1, following a directive from the Inter-Agency Task Force Against Emerging and infectious Diseases (IATF).

However, BI Commissioner Jaime Morente clarified that other travel restrictions remain in place. “We are still limiting the entry of foreign nationals to the country, following the IATF,” said Morente. “Generally speaking, tourists are still not allowed to enter the country,” he added. Current restrictions only allow the entry of accredited foreign diplomats and personnel of accredited international organizations such as the World Health Organization and the United Nations, foreign dignitaries, and those for medical and emergency cases, including their medical escorts.

Foreign spouse and minor children of Filipinos, children with special needs regardless of age of Filipinos, foreign parent of minor Filipinos, and foreign parent of Filipino children with special needs regardless of age will also be allowed entry. Permanent residents under Section 13 of the Philippine Immigration Act, RA 7919, and EO 324, as well as those with Native Born visas may enter.

Also allowed are those married to Filipinos with Temporary Resident Visas and MCL-07-021 Permanent Resident Visas relative to Section 13 of CA 613.Investors with an EO 226 visa, Special Investors Resident Visa under EO 226, 47(a)2 visa issued by the Department of Justice, and Section 9(d) Treaty Traders visa will also be allowed, together with those with economic zone visas under Aurora Pacific Economic Zone, Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority, Authority of the Freeport Area of Bataan, Cagayan Economic Zone Authority and Clark Development Corporation. Additionally, holders of Section 9(g) visas who left the country starting December 17, 2020 may return upon presentation of a valid ACr I-Card and Special Return Certificate.

Except for those qualified as balikbayans under Republic Act No. 6868, all exempted foreign nationals are required to have a valid and existing visa at the time of entry, with a pre-booked accommodation facility for at least 7 nights in an accredited quarantine facility, subject to COVID-19 testing protocols as set by the Department of Health, and subject to the maximum capacity of inbound passengers.

  • press release from the Bureau of Immigration, Philippines

This post has already been read 210 times!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *